Photo by: Stephen MacGillivray Photography & Video

NB Filmmakers Sweep Awards at SWFF 2019

The Annual Silver Wave Awards Show handed out major hardware to filmmakers from all over the world. The big winners were creative men and women involved with the NB Film Co-op and Women in Film and Television Atlantic.

Best Student Short: 23X by Luke Lee Knight
Excellence in Music Composition: Scott Brownlee for Distortion
Excellence in Art Direction: Arianna Martinez for Unofficial Selection
Excellence in Sound Design: Rob Gemmell for After The War
Excellence in Picture Editing is: Jon Blizzard for When We Were Young
Excellence in Cinematography: Lance Kenneth Blakney for Unofficial Selection
Best Experimental Film: Wretch by Larry Collicott
Best Low Budget Documentary: Anna Lisa by Nadine Arpin
Best Canadian Short: Solastalgia by Millefiore Clarkes
Best Documentary: I Am Skylar by Rachel Bower
Lex Gigeroff Excellence in Screenwriting in a NB Short Film: Brenda Malley for After The War
Outstanding Performance by a NB Actress: Catherine Belzile for Unofficial Selection
Outstanding Performance by a NB Supporting Actress: Kayla-Renée Ossachuk for After The War
Outstanding Performance by a NB Actor: Jeffrey Kelley for End of Leash
Outstanding Performance by a NB Supporting Actor: Ryan Barton for Unofficial Selection
Best NB Short Film: After The War by Brenda Malley
East Coast Camera Rental Award (valued at $5000.00. Sponsored by Nick Wilson
Winner: Brenda Malley
Best Genre Short: Velle to Want by Lance Kenneth Blakney
2019 Jane LeBlanc Filmmaker Award: Paul Roy for Rebirth
2019 Brian Carty Film Volunteer Recognition Award ($500): Ashley Phinney
2019 Jim Lavoie Film Recognition Award: Annick Blizzard and Jon Blizzard of Steam Powered Studios
2019 Film Crew Excellence Award: Alex Brewer
CBC/NB Joy Award Winner: Jared Carney for The Peculiar Sleeping Patterns of Edgar Heck
2019 WIFT-AT NB Salute to honour a woman working in film and television in New Brunswick: Arianna Martinez

About the Silver Wave Film Festival
The Silver Wave Film Festival (SWFF) is a four-day celebration of film, media, and music from around the world. It’s a festival that turns Fredericton – a scenic and historic city – into a center for the arts, abuzz with filmmakers, industry types, and film lovers. This year’s event celebrated 19 years of the Festival and took place from Nov 7-10, 2019.

The Festival would not be possible without its major sponsors and supporters: 

Platinum Sponsors: Province of New Brunswick, City of Fredericton, Telefilm Canada, CBC, Picaroons Brewing Company, University of New Brunswick’s Faculty of Arts, Nick Wilson Videography, East Coast Camera Rentals, The Canada Council for the Arts, and the New Brunswick Filmmakers’ Co-operative

Gold Sponsors: Don Chapman, The Jane LeBlanc Filmmaker Award, Royal Bank of Canada

Silver Sponsors: Teed Saunders Doyle Chartered Professional Accountants & Advisors, Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook, Duncan L. MacDonald Chartered Professional Accountant 

Bronze Sponsors: DGC-Atlantic, Charlotte Street Arts Centre, Robert Simmonds Clothing, Insurmountable Sounds, Unplugged, imagineNATIVE, John Christenson Think Design, Hemmings House, CHSR 97.9 FM, Cinema Politica, WIFT-AT.

Supporters: Kathleen and Jim Sparrow, Gallery on Queen, Mary Brown’s Famous Chicken & Taters, Stephen Butters, Sophie Lavoie, Matt Rogers, Jan Miller, Grid City, Matt Carter, Dana Publicover

For more information, contact: 

Cat Leblanc, Festival Organizer

Silver Wave Film Festival

[email protected]